sketchbook: different shades of gray

I actually cried.

Me being me, that isn’t entirely surprising, I guess – but this time, I just hadn’t expected it.

flag-kittyI’ve never had any great love of history or museum-y type things. So when we went to Washington DC (for my first time) this past weekend, I didn’t think that, surrounded by museums and monuments, I would *feel* any emotional anything.

I was wrong.

Walking through the Smithsonian museums, I actually was amazed: Both at how brilliant man can be sometimes – and also how absolutely, utterly wrong.

Seeing the war exhibit. Reading what we as a country did to the Native Americans. Realizing how Black Americans were(/are…) so mistreated. Watching two gay guys looking at the Constitution but knowing their rights aren’t covered by it.

America is great, I grew up believing. And sure, America *is* great. But America is, and has always been, far from perfect.

Everything in history really is written in shades of gray.

Ok, getting off my soapbox now!

“The world has never had a good definition of liberty, and the American people, just now, are much in need of one. We all declare for liberty; but in using the same word we do not all mean the same thing.”

– Abraham Lincoln, 1864

Leave a Reply

