still thankful

Last week, we took a road trip for Thanksgiving. But it wasn’t for Thanksgiving.

My soon-to-be mom-in-law had to go in for surgery the day before Thanksgiving. Thankfully, she’s doing ok!

We went to my future in-laws’ house because my fiance’s mom was going in for surgery. (Great timing, right? But that’s when they scheduled it for, poor thing. She’s a trooper though, and is doing ok!)

wp-image-208358076jpg.jpgAnyway, while packing for the visit, my fiance suggested I bring along the little sketchbook he’d given me a few months ago.
“Nah,” I said. “I’ve already got my laptop for writing, I don’t need to draw.”

But at the last minute, I did grab it and shoved it in my bag, just in case.

As it turned out, I’m glad I did. On that trip, I realized my sketchbook was a lot more portable than my laptop, so it came with me everywhere – to the house, to the hospital waiting room, before bed, in the car, even on the way to wp-image-753060449jpg.jpgrestaurants. (And I used it, too, didn’t just tote it around!)

 

I did at least one sketch a day while we were there. And when I got home, I liked that idea: a daily sketch. So I’m gonna try to keep it up, and post them at the end of each week.

This is my plan, and I’m hopefully gonna stick with it. That makes it the second good thing to come out of my future mom-in-law’s surgery ♡

 

Save

Leave a Reply

